20 something on the run

just living, running, and eating it all up in DC!

Sometimes I get a good feeling—24 miles in before taper time…

Leave a comment

Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, sometimes I get a good feeling, yeah I get a feeling that I never never never never had before, no no…

Listen NOW: Good Feeling-Flo Rida– Totally pumping this song up at the start of the Philly Half Marathon this SUNDAY!

Last Monday- I started off my long run (to make up for no long runs on Sat or Sun). I ran home from work (yes, I’m a freak but I got to use the flashlight application on my i-phone for a little!) I ran Gtown to the Lincoln, to WWII Memorial, to the Washington, to Memorial Bridge, to Trail to Roosevelt Island (never doing that again I was sprinting it was uber creepy and not safe) Rosslyn Hills to Ballston and back… It was 10 miles exactly- I am not gonna lie I amazed myself. I am becoming better at guesstimating  miles.

Quick Stop at the WWII Memorial... love this memorial

I have also learned that miles 7 through 9 are the worst. I am definitely on the struggle bus at that point. Chrissy called me right at mile 7 on Sunday and I was thankful that I could laugh at her. She was telling me about how she was super upset her hubby wanted the last of the leftover pizza for his friend.

Patty B: “Chrissy can’t you eat the Ellios pizza, Joe is coming over. We don’t have anyyyyy groceries, yet you just spent $250 on groceries”
Chrissy: “WHY DOES HE GET THE GOOD PIZZA! No really why don’t youuuu take the Ellios. Why do I get the crap pizza?!”

(Hilarious- I was laughing like a looney on Memorial Bridge and because I was a bit of a looney the night before…)

She felt better when I said I had a breakdown when trying to order Crazy, Stupid, Love on demand. It  wasn’t working, and was asking for a purchase pin number (what the hell is that?! I did not set that shit up!)… called Comcast through a little fit.  It takes a lot for me to get upset but I had moment. I am sorry but it was Friday and I was tired. All I wanted to do was get some pizza, bake some goodies, drink some wine, and watch Ryan Gosling… I mean the movie.  I LOATHE COMCAST!!!!! But the man was really nice and fixed the problem and agreed with me… that’s all I ask for when I am acting like a lunatic.

Knowing your closest people in life get looney sometimes is encouraging… well it was encouraging for all of mile 7. hah

11 miles were completed and I didn’t feel too defeated. I did have to grab a sugar free red bull before I went out to celebrate Kyle and Christophes b-day that night though.

You are probably thinking… hmm she can’t do math… 10+11=21 miles… I got up one morning before work and hit a 3 miler yay for not being so dark out any more due to daylight savings.

Phewwww bring on the taper time 🙂

Author: sipsandsweets

Meet Sarah and Colleen: Two twenty-something girls looking to learn more about wine while sipping and savoring sweets throughout the DC area. We love to bake and sip good wine, and hope to help other girlfriends create fun, relaxed times together! Join us on our tasty journey!

Leave a comment