20 something on the run

just living, running, and eating it all up in DC!


Leave a comment

Phil a delphiaaaaaa Marathon Weekend!

Friday night- I packed my bags and was headed home for a whole 9 days. I haven’t been home this long or taken off more then 3 days of work at a time since college break… needless to say I was counting down the days all week. I arrived home around 10:30pm on Friday and was greeted with a nice glass of champagne all before I put my bags down.  I caught up a bit with the parents but was ready for bed.

Saturday-My dad poked fun of me that I brought my own pre-race food with me at breakfast, “You brought your own food?” (I am not that person but I guess I was). Mom and I did a little birthday shopping before she dropped me off at Paoli Train Station so I could head into Philly to get my race packet. I actually met this girl on the train who went to the same high school. She graduated a few years earlier but must have overheard me talking to my sister about the marathon. “You’re running tomorrow!? That’s awesome!” she said and we and we wound up talking the whole way. She was headed to DC of all places.

I arrived at the Pennsylvania Convention Center around 5:30pm… grabbed the packet… (persuaded a volunteer to let me switch my tech shirt for a smaller size) and headed to my friend Mary’s apartment. Money was well spent- the goodie bag was awesome.

Getting pumped at packet pick up

Mary graciously hosted me overnight-not only hosted me overnight, but made me chicken parm with penne pasta to help me carb load, AND planned a post brunch with all our friends and some of my family! She’s so awesome and a great cook. We picked up some supplies for the brunch the next day I made the french toast souffle again. She made a great egg cassarole (my mom went crazy over it… still gotta get the recipe). It was nice to catch up with her and our friends Alix and Michelle that night and relax. Alix’s friend Aliyah was also running the half the next day… we chatted like giddy girls on what we were wearing the next day, eating for breakfast (both oatmeal and banana!) and  agreed to meet and walk together to the start line. I laid everything out for the next day. It was like getting ready for the first day of school but it took me a little while to get to bed because I was excited (I even sprung out of bed at 4:46am thinking it was go time…. thankfully I had another hour of sleep).

 

Sunday: 5:45 am it was game time! I geared and fueled up and headed out the door at 6:15am. The weather was perfect, it was a little below 50 degrees-zero humidity. I was pumped! I have never seen a city more awake at 6:15am.. “GOOD MORNINGGGG GOOD LUCK TODAY!”, on going marathoners were greeting me. I met Aliyah at 22nd and Chestnut (where we would later run by around mile 7) We were both excited, yet a little nervous and kept telling each other, “It’s just running… it’st just going for a long run.” We bonded with strangers and first time marathoners in the neverending porta potty line.

Art Museum..

 

Finallllllllllly around 7:35am it was go time.

Go TIME!

Aliyah and I started together and then broke apart. We went at our own, yet similar paces. Dodging most people for the first couple of miles and taking in the scenery.

Good morning Mr Ben Franlin Bridge.. at Mile 2

 

This guy carried the flag the entire way...

 

I ran the first 7 miles effortlessly (it was like almost too good…)  I spotted Alix and Mary right around mile 7 waving and cheering me on!

 

Happy to see Mary!

 

My 10K time texted me (yes my mom signed up myself to track myself….accidently) that I was running  at a 10:34 pace and an estimate finish time would be 2:18 mins. AWESOME, just where I wanted to be… but could I keep it up? I text my family who was on their way and planned on meeting me around mile 10 in Fairmont Park, “Half way done.” My mom called a bit paniced, “Ugh, your halfway done?… okay haa well we are on the Expressway!” I didn’t think I was going to see them… luckily miles 8-9 were quite hilly and almost everyone was walking as we entered Fairmont park. NOOOO DO NOT WALK!.. I pushed up the hill and read the movitation signs… “Almost there! GET that Hill!” ” This blows”,  I thought.

I text my bro in law on where to find them-“at the avenue of the republic… once you hear the drums you’ll see us.” Turning around the bend (good thing I took my headphones out…) I spotted Mom (eagerly jumping with a sign that said “GET IT GIRL!”), Chrissy, Patrick and Maura. Mom jumped me while I was still running, Chrissy threw her hands up in the air like a crazy person, while trying to get a photo, and Patrick ran with Maura beside me to wish me good luck as I finished up the last three mile. Poor Maura she had no clue what was going and thought everyone was running away from something scary.

“Last three miles…it’s just a 5k. Piece of cake”, I thought….well it wasn’t. I was starting to crash and get grumpy at mile 11.

My mom called me to tell me they had parked near Mary’s apartment. “Where are you?!” she said.

“Mile 11… I think”…I sluggishly said.

“Still!?” (thanks a lot mom.)

I was started to feel defeated but laughed when Patrick sent me this text:  a picture of a four pack of Allagash White-“your prize but you gotta finish strong.”

I slugged back some water and popped a caffeeine gel despite the fact my stomach hurt. I wanted to vomit, but I think I just needed to hydrate.

The signs seperating the full marathoners and the half were encouraging. “At least its over in a mile”, I told myself reaching mile 12….”26.2 thats for suckers!”

The crowds were wild heading toward the finish for over a 1/4 mile. I gave it all I could and sprinted and sprinted…. and sprinted…. I think I actually shouted, “WHERE THE HELL IS THE FINISH?!” as strangers cheered me on. “YOU GOT THIS COLLEEN!!” “GO COLLEEN, ALMOST THERE”.

“Wait are my friends here? How do they know my name?” I thought.  Then it registered.. my bib had my name on it (ohh, that’s why they do that. Hah good idea).

I remember smiling big for the camera as I crossed the finish. I’ll be excited when that photo is e-mailed to me hah.

Final Time: 2:25…. I was a little dissapointed (not gonna lie). I ran my first half in 2:22.

Post race

Brunch at Marys was awesome. I got to catch up with all my family and friends from home. I am really blessed for my health, happiness, friends and family (they are LE BEST!)

 

Maura tried stretching.. for about .05 seconds

My godson Liam and I

 

Liams car is a lot cooler then your medal Aunt Coll

On sad note: two runners died of apparent heart attacks at the marathon. One was a 21 year old male after he crossed the half marathon finish. Another was a 40 year old male who collapsed 1/4 mile before the finish. Thoughts and prayers with their families.

Good news: I am not hurting today!